What Happens After You’re Charged with a DWI in Texas?

What Happens After You’re Charged with a DWI in Texas?

Getting involved in an arrest is always a scary prospect. Unfortunately, it can also be a frightening reality for many people, leaving you struggling with serious charges. In fact, you might have already been charged with a DWI in Texas, and now you’re feeling a little hopeless.

However, keep I mind that charged doesn’t mean convicted. You’ll need to act now to protect yourself and get your case dismissed. So, after you’ve been charged, you’ll need to know what to expect and how to handle the time between your arrest and your trial.

Fortunately, you can get the help you need with an attorney before you begin. For many people, this may be the key to understanding your charges and defending yourself against these accusations.

You’ll be Arrested

Your charges might come at any time that a police officer pulls you over. If they have reason to believe that you were driving under the influence, they may first ask you to take a field sobriety test. If you’ve been asked to take a Breathalyzer immediately after being pulled over, you’ve been subjected to one of these tests.

If you’re believed to have been driving while intoxicated, you’ll be arrested and taken to the station. Typically, this is because the sobriety test showed that your blood alcohol content was above the legal limit.

For Texas residents, that means your BAC was above 0.08 percent for most drivers, or 0.04 percent if you’re a commercial driver.

Getting Your Court Date

Once you’ve been arrested, you’ll be taken to the station, where they’ll book you and conduct another sobriety test. Once you’re there, you’ll need to contact your attorney, if possible, or a family member and let them know what happened.

Typically, you’ll be placed in a holding cell, and you’ll wait there until you’re able to be released on bail. They’ll notify you of your court date, and you’ll need to post bail. If you’re not able to, you’ll need to notify your Tarrant County DWI lawyer.

Once you’ve been released from jail, you’ll need to first, of course, cover the costs of your bail. Once you’ve done that, you’ll need to be ready for your day in court. While it may feel hopeless, especially if you failed the in-station sobriety test, you’ll have a chance to get those charges dropped.  

You’ll Fight Back with an Attorney

When you’ve been charged and released on bail, your next step will be to fight back. You’re facing jail time, hefty fines, and possibly an engine interlock device, which can be embarrassing. You don’t want to take a sobriety test just to start your car, so reach out for help.

Once you’ve been released, you’ll need to start preparing for your defense or seeking out a lawyer. Getting your case dropped is vital to protecting your future, so reach out today for the help you need.

After your charges have been made, you’ll need to start by preparing evidence defending yourself, usually with the help of your lawyer. You’ll need evidence that you weren’t driving while intoxicated, but that’s not easy without help.

You’ll need to determine the best way to fight back for your claim and seek out a dismissal of your claim. You want to get your life back to normal, so fight to have your charges dropped.

Andrew Castro

Comments are closed.