Hello there! I’m Rosenberg Morse, and I’m a strong advocate of victims’ rights. I want victims to have the resources and information they need to handle any situation. Today, we’re discussing the car crash laws that you need to know if you’re a victim of a wreck in Colorado.
Victims of auto accidents often don’t know what to do after their collision. They aren’t sure whether they should file an insurance claim with their own insurance provider or whether they should contact a Denver car accident lawyer for help.
Whatever situation you find yourself in following a collision, you’re likely to better understand your options if you know the laws related to vehicle collisions that take place in Colorado.
Important Colorado Auto Accident Laws to Know
The first law you should know about is known as a fault law. Colorado is a “fault” state when it comes to dealing with who is responsible in a vehicle collision. This simply means that the person who caused the accident is the one who could be required to pay for it.
Some states use a no fault system where every person pays for their own damages using their own insurance regardless of who caused the collision.
Comparative Fault Law
The law of comparative fault in Colorado allows an injury victim to file a claim against another involved person so long as the other person’s fault is greater than yours.
For example, if you’re in a car accident and the other person is deemed 90 percent responsible for the crash, and you’re considered 10 percent responsible, you can file a claim, but your claim’s value will be lessened by the fault assigned to you.
Statute of Limitations
The state of Colorado gives accident victims three years to bring an injury claim or lawsuit against a negligent party. This time frame begins on the day of your accident.
You should also know that the statute of limitations does not apply to insurance companies, and you should notify insurers as soon as possible of an accident, including the other person’s insurance company.
Are You a Victim of a Car Accident?
As a victim, your rights should be respected. I, Rosenberg Morse, believe that car accident victims go through enough following a vehicle collision, and they don’t need to also deal with mistreatment from the insurance companies or others involved in their vehicle accident claim. Hopefully, this information on car accident laws in Colorado will help you with your situation.